top of page
Writer's pictureQUANG DUNG LAI

Thanh xuân bất hủ (October 21, 2021)

Updated: Dec 7, 2021



I have (many) a group(s) of friends. Sometimes, I struggle to explain the concept of "best friends" and their existence in my life. But I believe now I have found one. Each of them reflected a part of me and shed a light on a new part of theirs. Notwithstanding such profound impacts, I wish their names to be anonymous for privacy. There are four of them, each of whom taught me an important lesson in life.


I embarked on the actual friendship at the beginning of 2020. It was a blessing in disguise that drew me close to these people. The positivity, seemingly untapped smiles, and optimism, impressed me to such an extent of no precedence.


A. The provenance


"A" became the first person outside of my comfort zone to have known my secrets, embracing a part of me and accompanying me during my darkest moments. I have a habit of sharing sadness only with those I have a deep connection with. But somehow, my negativity was a magnet that sometimes drew "A" into desperation.


There was one intrinsic, memorable event during what may be called the saddest moment in my 2021. I actually felt a similar outlook on the philosophy of life. I knew that this circle is meant to be there.


To the person who spent a life chasing other people's happiness.


B. The first connection


It starts during an unrecorded moment, a time in which I did not even know since when. We managed to strike a friendship slowly and subconsciously. To speak of a specific, unforgettable moment, I may not have the ability. But to share my feelings, I totally have the ability.


The feeling of relaxation, joviality, youth, a little judgment, a little knowledge, and logic constantly suffused my mind during our trips to anywhere we want to be. The feeling of belonging and calm is always juxtaposed with the sense of enthusiasm and personal insights.


To the person with two life philosophies of limitations and self-faith.


C. The unexpected acquaintance


Ironically, I did not realize my impact on this person for quite a long time. I did not make a positive influence or a role model, but rather, a negative fleeting moment that until now, I fail to understand why I had behaved that way.


"C" struck me as the most positive and resilient person considering this person's family background. The greatest lesson was optimism: to move on, to view life through a rose-colored lens, to babble until you find someone who would befriend, listen, and understand you.


To the person who I very much admire for the optimism and lessons in knitting.


D. The long-gone friendship


This was a connection established for a long time ago only to be lost in the passage of time. The existence of this group managed to toe our distance, re-connecting our friendship. There are surprisingly many similarities in the way we react, behave, and perceive life.


"D" has, perhaps, the deepest level of negativity in the four friends. This person, until now, struggles to understand my reason to re-connect with her. But, in many moments, I have seen the inner beauty, or in my interpretation, the inner outlook on life and this person's ability to see beauty in homespun settings.


To the person who can find beauty in the darkest moments of life.


E. The long-lasting impact


Along the passage of time, memories may fade away, but feelings are always there.





54 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page